Quantcast

Welcome to RC Drone Forum! Use the main menu and search bar to navigate our site. It's always FREE to join our Drone Community and post in our forums, create your own Drone club, share your photos and videos and more. It's easy to get started and you can login with some of these popular social networks.

Cell Phones and Downloaded Apps

I'm a total newbie with drones or quadcopters.  I get the gist of what they are all about but on the tech side there's grey area for me.  I think I may be dyslexic or something like that but I'm quick learner once I've had a chance to play around with stuff like this.

My question about these drones that require the downloading of a specific app in order to use as an additional means of controlling your drone;  and to work as a live feed display to see what your drone-camera is seeing;  does the cell phone one uses have to be connected to a cell-phone-service provider???   What I'm getting at is;   I have a couple of old cell phones that I don't use any more.  One is an older iPhone and the other is an Android model.  They both have the WiFi protocol that's needed to send and receive the signals that would go back and forth from the drone to the cell phone.

Would it be possible to use one of my old cell phones if I were to download the needed app onto my existing service-connected cell phone then transfer that app manually to my non-service-connected cell phone so that I could use that non-service-connected cell phone as a dedicated monitor for the drone in question?  I'm hoping the answer is yes cause I see no reason to use up the battery of my existing service-connected cell phone as a display for what the drone camera is seeing.  With my older non-service-connected or no longer used cell phones I even have extra batteries so that would be a plus as well.